To report suspected abuse, exploitation or neglect of an older person, call the statewide, 24-hour Adult Protective Services Hotline:1-866-800-1409, 1-888-206-1327 (TTY).
What happens when you report someone for elder abuse?
If your state mandates reporting, most medical care providers have an obligation to report suspected elder abuse. If they fail to report potential abuse, they can be liable for any injuries and damages the victim may later suffer.
What constitutes elder abuse in Illinois?
(a-1) “Abuse” means causing any physical, mental or sexual injury to an eligible adult, including exploitation of such adult’s financial resources, and abandonment.
How do I report financial elder abuse in Illinois?
To report abuse, neglect or exploitation of an older person living in the community, please contact the 24-hour Illinois Elder Abuse Hotline at 1-866-800-1409 or 1-888-206-1327 (TTY). Online, visit www.state.il.us/aging/.
How do you prove elder abuse?
In order to prove you guilty of FELONY elder abuse under Penal Code section 368, the prosecutor must establish beyond a reasonable doubt the following: 1) you inflicted unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering on an elder, or you allowed another person to do so; 2) you acted willfully or with criminal negligence
How do you report a vulnerable elderly person?
Call the police or 9-1-1 immediately if someone you know is in immediate, life-threatening danger. If the danger is not immediate, but you suspect that abuse has occurred or is occurring, please tell someone. Relay your concerns to the local adult protective services, long-term care ombudsman, or the police.
What is passive neglect?
Passive Neglect – non-willful failure of a caregiver to fulfill caretaking functions and responsibilities assumed by the caregiver, including but not limited to, abandonment or denial of food or health related services because of inadequate caregiver knowledge, infirmity, or disputing the value of prescribed services. 5
What happens after APS is called?
Once a report is assessed by APS, an investigator (typically a social worker) begins working on the “case.” The investigator completes face-to-face visits, collects collateral information from those involved and gathers medical or financial records and documents these activities.
Is elder abuse a felony in Illinois?
Criminal abuse or neglect of an elderly person or person with a disability is a Class 3 felony, unless it results in the person’s death in which case it is a Class 2 felony, and if imprisonment is imposed it shall be for a minimum term of 3 years and a maximum term of 14 years.
What does an APS investigator do?
WHAT DOES APS DO? Receives reports of alleged abuse, neglect, self-neglect or financial exploitation and determines if the client is eligible. Investigates the allegations through interviewing the client, collateral contacts, alleged abuser(s) and through examining evidence such as medical and bank records.
Are volunteers mandated reporters in Illinois?
Although child-care workers have long been mandated reporters, the Act thus now clarifies that volunteer child-care workers affiliated with a church or other house of worship are mandated reporters.
When should I call senior services?
Recognizing the Warning Signs of Elder Abuse Having frequent, hard-to-explain wounds and injuries. Appearing to be anxious and fearful around a family member or caregiver. Withdrawing from social activities, family outings, hobbies and even from religious services.
What constitutes abuse of the elderly?
Elder abuse includes physical, emotional, or sexual harm inflicted upon an older adult, their financial exploitation, or neglect of their welfare by people who are directly responsible for their care.
At what age is considered elder abuse?
What is Elder Abuse? Elder abuse is an intentional act or failure to act that causes or creates a risk of harm to an older adult. An older adult is someone age 60 or older. The abuse occurs at the hands of a caregiver or a person the elder trusts.
How do I report elder abuse anonymously?
Over the phone: You can often report anonymously over the phone to Adult Protective Services (APS) or other law enforcement agencies who can investigate your claim. By fax: You’ll likely need to fill out the appropriate forms, but you can often report anonymously via fax with agencies such as APS.